Youth Achievement and Duke of Edinburgh Award

We run the Duke of Edinburgh Award:

The Scheme creates a life-changing experience;  a fun time with friends; an opportunity to discover new interests and talents. It is a tool to develop essential skills for life and work and a recognised mark of achievement; respected by employers.

The DofE is many things to many people, supporting generations to successfully navigate adult life.

14-24 year-olds can do a DofE programme at one of three progressive levels which, when successfully completed, leads to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

There are four sections to complete at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold. They involve helping the community/environment, becoming fitter, developing new skills, planning, training for and completing an expedition and, for Gold only, working with a team on a residential activity.

Any young person can do their DofE – regardless of ability, gender, background or location. Achieving an Award isn’t a competition or about being first. It’s all about setting personal challenges and pushing personal boundaries.

Through a DofE programme young people have fun, make friends, improve their self-esteem and build confidence. They gain essential skills and attributes for work and life such as resilience, problem-solving, team-working, communication and drive, enhancing CVs and uni and job applications. Top employers recognise the work-ready skills Award holders bring to their business.

As a Licenced Organisation (LO) we are the only non-school community-based centre operating the scheme locally. Our focus is to support and encourage those young people who may not have the means nor the self-belief to undertake the Award.

The Youth Achievement Award

The UK Youth Achievement Awards (UKYAAs) champion a variety of learning methods to provide a unique framework that can be tailored to almost any activity, helping to engage a range of young people. The aim of the Award is to provide an accredited, flexible award framework to celebrate the achievements of all young people.

The UKYAAs, which are accredited by ASDAN, offer five levels. Young people can work their way up or enter at the most relevant point:

  • Challenge – entry level introduction to the UKYAAs
  • Bronze – taking part and getting involved
  • Silver – helping to organise
  • Gold – planning and leading
  • Platinum – taking a full leadership role, with an element of training

Each level of the award connects to a different point on the UK Youth Social Development Journey and represents different levels of participation. Through the UKYAAs, young people will gain vital life skills and become motivated, self-aware, receptive, resilient, responsible, confident and good communicators.

Please Contact Us if you require any further information on these Awards.